Books & Comics / Culture and People

#WisdomTales 01Jun15 : Power…

#WisdomTales 01Jun15 : Power…

A powerful Emperor was known for his foul temper, apart from his strong army and rich treasures that he had accumulated.

As he entered the bedroom of his soon-to-be-bride, he knew very little about the woman – one of the most beautiful women in all of land he controlled, who was being made to marry him against her will, as her parents were unable to stand up to the Emperor, however the bride was an ordinary woman with extra-ordinary courage – she had spent her childhood learning from wise sages & monks.

She sat expressionless, staring at the wall. “Hello, pretty,” he said to her, but she didn’t respond.

“I said hello to you, and you will respond when I address you, do you understand me??” he snarled. But still, she didn’t reply.

Most people would have answered him by now, so despite himself he grew curious, and gruffly asked, “What is it you are thinking?”
Finally she answered him. “Two things. One, that I do not wish to marry you because you are so callous and mean-spirited. And the other thing, is that I was wondering if you have it within your power to have a certain something changed.”

“What?!” the emperor exclaimed with outrage. “You worthless woman! How dare you question my authority, I am the most powerful king in this land, no one can stand in front of me let alone disobey me, there is nothing that is beyond my powers!… But … I admit I’m curious. Since I have it within my power to snap my fingers and whatever I command within my kingdom will be obeyed, what is it you are wondering if I could change?”

“Your attitude,” she replied. And with that she got up and walked out of the room, leaving him in stunned silence.

Emperor

Leave a Reply

