Books & Comics

#DailyBookQuote 16Jan14 : Thomas Hardy’s The Mayor of Casterbridge

#DailyBookQuote : 16th January 2014

 Thomas Hardy2

–          Thomas Hardy (June 02, 1840 – January 11, 1928)

–          Thomas Hardy’s The Mayor of Casterbridge

‘I’ve not always been what I am now’. In a fit of drunken anger, Michael Henchard sells his wife and baby daughter for five guineas at a country fair. Over the course of the following years, he manages to establish himself as a respected and prosperous pillar of the community of Casterbridge, but behind his success there always lurk the shameful secret of his past and a personality prone to self-destructive pride and temper. Subtitled ‘A Story of a Man of Character’, Hardy’s powerful and sympathetic study of the heroic but deeply flawed Henchard is also an intensely dramatic work, tragically played out against the vivid backdrop of a close-knit Dorsetshire town.

One thought on “#DailyBookQuote 16Jan14 : Thomas Hardy’s The Mayor of Casterbridge

  1. Good ‘ol Thomas Hardy!! I tried cramming the entire “Mayor of Casterbridge” into one night back when I was in High School. I made it, but I wound up speaking and thinking in a 19’th Century Scottish dialect for several days after: : “I dinna think it ‘twould take me all night… I never wanted ti miss ma class on the morrow… ’tis plain that the weight ‘o evidence is greatly aginst me… ach I don’t know what I’m gonna do…”

Leave a Reply

