Music, Movies and Television

#MusicLog : An Hour of My Favorite Music

#MusicLog : An Hour of My Favorite Music

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

While waiting to catch the flight back home (New Delhi) from  Bombay last night,  I started listening to a podcast “Musicast”  by the funny people @ The Only Podcast That Matter http://theonlypodcast.com/feed/podcast/ . The podcast was not only enjoyable, it also got me thinking about sharing my own hour long playlist of favorite music.

So here is my favorite one hour of music, have tried to keep just one song from each artist though I love to listen to their complete albums at one go.  In some cases I also tried to choose a shorter duration song so that I can squeeze in a larger number of my favorite artist. Also I have deliberately tried to pickup Artist from past till very recent years so that the list represent the various phases in my life where I loved one or the other type of music.

Most of these songs have some special connection, reminds me of the days gone by, of the people or the places which are etched forever deep inside. That’s why I still find it hard to let go of the huge pile of audio cassettes even though we do not have a cassette player at home anymore. Have got the digital copy of almost all of them on iTune – am so proud of my 82 gigs music iTune collection.

Okay, so without further blubbering, here is my list followed by their lyrics, shamelessly copied from http://www.elyrics.net.

Thanks to Box.Net, listen to any these songs at the blog’s home page, Enjoy!

S. No. Song Artist Time
1 Have A Cigar Pink Floyd 5
2 Roll Me Away Bob Seger & The Silver Bullet Band 4
3 Janie’s Got A Gun Aerosmith 5
4 Imagine John Lennon 3
5 We Will Rock You Queen 2
6 Kiss From a Rose Seal 4
7 To Be With You Mr. Big 3
8 More Than Words Extreme 5
9 Hotel California The Eagle 7
10 Fast Car Tracy Chapman 5
11 Streets Of Philadelphia Bruce Springsteen – The Boss 3
12 Take Me Home, Country Roads John Denver 3
13 Under The Bridge Red Hot Chilly Peppers 4
14 Fix You Cold Play 5
15 Chasing Pavements Adele 3
16 Things People Say Lady Antebellum 3

1.      Have A Cigar (Songwriters: Roger Walters, Vocals: Roy Harper)

Come on over here boy, have a cigar, you’re gonna go far

You’re gonna fly high, you’re never gonna die

You’re gonna make it if you try they’re gonna love you

Well I’ve always had a deep respect and I mean that most sincerely

But the band is just fantastic that is really what I think

Oh by the way, which one’s Pink?

And did we tell you the name of the game, boy?

We call it ‘Riding the Gravy Train

We’re just knocked out we heard about the sell out

You gotta get an album out, you owe it to the people

We’re so happy we can hardly count

Everybody else is just green have you seen the chart?

It’s a helluva start it could be made into a monster

If we all pull together as a team

And did we tell you the name of the game, boy?

We call it ‘Riding the Gravy Train’, yeah

And did we tell you the name of the game, boy?

We call it ‘Riding the Gravy Train’

 

2.       Roll Me Away (Songwriter & Vocals: Bob Seger)

Took a look down a westbound road, right away I made my choice

Headed out to my big two-wheelerI was tired of my own voice

Took a bead on the northern plainsand just rolled that power on

Twelve hours out of Mackinaw Citystopped in a bar to have a brew

Met a girl and we had a few drinks, and I told her what I’d decided to do

She looked out the window a long long moment, then she looked into my eyes

She didn’t have to say a thing, I knew what she was thinkin’

Roll, roll me away, Won’t you roll me away tonight?

I too am lost, I feel double-crossed, and I’m sick of what’s wrong and what’s right, 

We never even said a word we just walked out and got on that bike, 

And we rolledAnd we rolled clean out of sight, 

We rolled across the high plains deep into the mountains, 

Felt so good to me,  finally feelin’ free

Somewhere along a high road the air began to turn cold

She said she missed her home, I headed on alone

Stood alone on a mountain top starin’ out at the great divide

I could go east, I could go west, It was all up to me to decide

Just then I saw a young hawk flyin’ and my soul began to rise

And pretty soon, My heart was singin’, Roll, roll me away,

I’m gonna roll me away tonight, Gotta keep rollin, gotta keep ridin’

keep searchin’ till I find what’s right, And as the sunset faded

I spoke to the faintest first starlight And I said next time

Next time, We’ll get it right

3.       Janie’s Got A Gun (Songwriters: Steven Tylor & Tom Hamilton, Vocals: Steven Tylor)

Dum, dum, dum, honey what have you done?

Dum, dum, dum it’s the sound of my gun.

Dum, dum, dum, honey what have you done?

Dum, dum, dum it’s the sound

Janie’s got a gun, Janie’s got a gun

Her whole world’s come undone, From lookin’ straight at the sun

What did her daddy do? What did he put you through?

They said when Janie was arrested they found him underneath a train

But man, he had it comin’ Now that Janie’s got a gun 

she ain’t never gonna be the same.

Janie’s got a gun, Janie’s got a gun

Her dog day’s just begunNow everybody is on the run

Tell me now it’s untrue.What did her daddy do?

He jacked a little bitty baby, The man has got to be insane

They say the spell that he was under the lightning and

the thunder knew that someone had to stop the rain

Run away, run away from the pain yeah, yeah yeah yeah

Run away run away from the pain yeah yeah 

yeah yeah yeah yeah yeah, Run away, run away, run, run away

Janie’s got a gun, Janie’s got a gun

Her dog day’s just begun, Now everybody is on the run

What did her daddy do?, It’s Janie’s last I.O.U.

She had to take him down easy and put a bullet in his brain

She said ’cause nobody believes me. The man was such a sleeze. 

He ain’t never gonna be the same, Run away, run away from the pain yeah, yeah 

yeah yeah yeah, Run away run away from the pain yeah yeah 

yeah yeah yeah yeah yeah, Run away, run away, run, run away

Janie’s got a gun, Janie’s got a gun, Janie’s got a gun

Everybody is on the run, Janie’s got a gun, Her dog day’s just begun

Now everybody is on the run, Because Janie’s got a gun, Janie’s got a gun

Her dog day’s just begun, Now everybody is on the run, Janie’s got a gun

4.       Imagine (Songwriter & Vocals: John Lennon)

Imagine there’s no heaven, it’s easy if you try

No people below us, above it’s only sky

Imagine all the peopleLiving for today

Imagine there’s no countries, it isn’t hard to do

No need to kill or die for and no religions too

Imagine all the people, Living life in peace

You may say I’m a dreamer, But I’m not the only one

I hope someday you’ll join us, And the world will live as one

Imagine no possessions I wonder if you can

No need for greed or hunger a brotherhood of man

Imagine all the people, Sharing for the world

You may say I’m a dreamer, But I’m not the only one

I hope someday you’ll join us, And the world will live as one

You may say I’m a dreamer, But I’m not the only one

Take my hand and join us, And the world will live, will live as one

5.       We Will Rock You (Songwriter: Brian May, Vocals: Freddie Mercury)

We will we will rock you, We will we will rock you

Buddy you’re a boy make a big noise,

Playin’ in the street gonna be a big man some day

You got mud on yo’ faceYou big disgrace

Kickin’ your can all over the place

Singin’, We will , we will rock you, We will , we will rock you

Buddy you’re a young man,hard man

Shoutin’ in the street gonna take on the world some day

You got blood on yo’ face, Y’ big disgrace

Wavin’ your banner all over the place

We will , we will rock you, we will , we will rock you

Buddy you’re an old man,poor man

Pleadin’ with your eyes gonna make you some peace,some day

You got mud on your face, big disgrace

Somebody better put you back into yo’ place

We will , we will rock you, Singin’, We will , we will rock you, 

Everybody, We will , we will rock you, We will , we will rock you

 

6.       Kiss From A Rose (Songwriter & Vocals: Seal / Sealhenri)

There used to be a graying tower alone on the sea 

You became the light on the dark side of me

Love remained a drug that’s the high and not the pill

But did you know, That when it snows, 

My eyes become large and The light that you shine can be seen

There is so much a man can tell you, So much he can say

You remain my power, my pleasure, my pain

Baby, to me you’re like a growing addiction that I can’t deny

Won’t you tell me is that healthy, baby?

But did you know That when it snows

My eyes become large and The light that you shine can be seen

Baby, I compare you to a kiss from a rose on the grave

Ooh, the more I get of you, stranger it feels, yeah

Now that your rose is in bloom A light hits the gloom on the gray

But did you know That when it snows 

My eyes become large and The light that you shine can be seen

Baby, I might compare you to a kiss from a rose on the grave

Ooh, the more I get of you, stranger it feels, yeah Now that your rose is in bloom

A light hits the gloom on the gray

I’ve been kissed from a rose on the grave

Ooh, the stranger it feels, yeah

Now that your rose is in bloom A light hits the gloom on the gray

I’ve been kissed from a rose, I’ve been kissed from a rose

Baby, to me you’re like a growing addiction

Won’t you tell me is that healthy ways and healthy ways

And healthy ways and healthy ways, And healthy ways and healthy ways

7.       To Be With You (Songwriter: David Grahame, Lead Vocals: Eric Martin)

Hold on little girl, show me what he’s done to you

Stand up little girlA broken heart can’t be that bad

when it’s through, it’s throughFate will twist the both of you

So come on baby come on overLet me be the one to show you

CHORUS: I’m the one who wants to be with youDeep inside I hope you feel it too

Waited on a line of greens and blues, Just to be the next to be with you

Build up your confidence, So you can be on top for once

Wake up who cares about, Little boys that talk too much

I seen it all go down, Your game of love was all rained out

So come on baby, come on over, Let me be the one to hold you

CHORUS: I’m the one who wants to be with youDeep inside I hope you feel it too

Waited on a line of greens and blues, Just to be the next to be with you

Why be alone when we can be together baby, 

You can make my life worthwile and I can make you start to smile

8.       More Than Words (Songwriter & Vocals: Gary Cherone, Nuno Bettencourt)

Saying “I love you” Is not the words I want to hear from you

It’s not that I want youNot to say, but if you only knew how easy

It would be to show me how you feel

More than words Is all you have to do to make it real

Then you wouldn’t have to say that you love me ‘Cause I’d already know

What would you do if my heart was torn in two 

More than words to show you feel That your love for me is real

What would you say if I took those words away 

Then you couldn’t make things new Just by saying “I love you”

More than words

Now but I’ve tried to talk to you And make you understand

All you have to do is close your eyes And just reach out your hands 

And touch me Hold me close, don’t ever let me go

More than words Is all I ever needed you to show 

Then you wouldn’t have to say that you love me‘Cause I’d already know

What would you do if my heart was torn in two More than words to show you feel

That your love for me is real

What would you say if I took those words away

When you couldn’t make things new Just by saying “I love you”

More than words, More than words, More than words, More than words, More than words

9.       Hotel California (Songwriter: Don Henley & Glenn Frey Vocals: Don Henley)

On a dark desert highway, cool wind in my hair

Warm smell of colitas rising up through the air

Up ahead in the distance I saw a shimmering light

My head grew heavy and my sight grew dim

I had to stop for the night

There she stood in the doorway, I heard the mission bell

Then I was thinking to myself this could be Heaven or this could be Hell

Then she lit up a candle and she showed me the way

There were voices down the corridor I thought I heard them say

“Welcome to the Hotel CaliforniaSuch a lovely place,

Such a lovely place, Such a lovely face

Plenty of room at the Hotel California, Any time of year, 

Any time of year, You can find it here”

Her mind is Tiffany twisted, she got the Mercedes Benz

She got a lot of pretty, pretty boys that she calls friends

How they dance in the courtyard, sweet summer sweat

Some dance to remember, some dance to forget

So I called up the captain, “Please bring me my wine”

He said, “We haven’t had that spirit here since 1969”

And still those voices are calling from far away

Wake you up in the middle of the night just to hear them say

“Welcome to the Hotel California, 

Such a lovely place, Such a lovely place, Such a lovely face

They’re living it up at the Hotel California

What a nice surprise, What a nice surprise, Bring your alibis”

Mirrors on the ceiling, the pink champagne on ice

And she said, “We are all just prisoners here of our own device”

And in the master’s chambers they gathered for the feast

They stab it with their steely knives but they just can’t kill the beast

Last thing I remember I was running for the door

I had to find the passage back to the place I was before

“Relax,” said the night man, “We are programmed to receive

You can check out any time you like but you can never leave”

 

10.   Fast Car (Songwriter & Vocals: Tracy Chapman)

You got a fast carI want a ticket to anywhere

Maybe we make a dealMaybe together we can get somewhere

Anyplace is better, Starting from zero got nothing to lose

Maybe we’ll make something, But me myself I got nothing to prove

You got a fast car And I got a plan to get us out of here

I been working at the convenience store, Managed to save just a little bit of money

We won’t have to drive too far, Just across the border and into the city

You and I can both get jobs And finally see what it means to be living

You see my old man’s got a problem He live with the bottle that’s the way it is

He says his body’s too old for working I say his body’s too young to look like his

My mama went off and left him She wanted more from life than he could give

I said somebody’s got to take care of him So I quit school and that’s what I did

You got a fast car, But is it fast enough so we can fly away?

We gotta make a decision, We leave tonight or live and die this way

See I remember we were driving, driving in your car

The speed so fast I felt like I was drunk, City lights lay out before us

And your arm felt nice wrapped ’round my shoulder, And I had a feeling that I belonged

I had a feeling I could be someone, be someone, be someone

You got a fast car, We go cruising entertain ourselves

You still ain’t got a job And I work in the market as a checkout girl

I know things will get better, You’ll find work and I’ll get promoted

We’ll move out of the shelter Buy a bigger house and live in the suburbs

See I remember we were driving, driving in your car

The speed so fast I felt like I was drunk, City lights lay out before us

And your arm felt nice wrapped ’round my shoulder And I had a feeling that I belonged

I had a feeling I could be someone, be someone, be someone

You got a fast car, And I got a job that pays all our bills

You stay out drinking late at the bar, See more of your friends than you do of your kids

I’d always hoped for better Thought maybe together you and me’d find it

I got no plans I ain’t going nowhere So take your fast car and keep on driving

See I remember when we were driving, driving in your car

The speed so fast I felt like I was drunk, City lights lay out before us

And your arm felt nice wrapped ’round my shoulder And I had a feeling that I belonged

I had a feeling I could be someone, be someone, be someone

You got a fast car But is it fast enough so you can fly away?

You gotta make a decision Leave tonight or live and die this way

 

11.   Streets Of Philadelphia (Songwriter & Vocals: Bruce Springsteen)  

I was bruised and battered I couldn’t tell what I felt

I was unrecognizable to myself

I saw my reflection in a window I didn’t know my own face

Oh Brother are you gonna leave me wastin’ away On the streets of Philadelphia

I walked the avenue ’til my legs felt like stone, I heard the voices of friends vanished and gone

At night I could hear the blood in my veins, Black and whispering as the rain

On the streets of Philadelphia, Ain’t no angel gonna greet me

It’s just you and I my friend, My clothes don’t fit me no more

I walked a thousand miles, Just to slip this skin

The night has fallen, I’m lyin’ awake, I can feel myself fading away

So receive me brother with your faithless kiss Or will we leave each other alone like this

On the streets of Philadelphia

12.   Take Me Home Country Roads (Songwriter & Vocals: John Denver)

Almost heaven, West VirginiaBlue ridge mountains, Shenandoah river

Life is old there, older than the treesYounger than the mountains, growin’ like a breeze

Country roads, take me home, To the place I belong

West Virginia, mountain momma, Take me home, country roads

All my memories, they gather ’round her, Miner’s lady, stranger to blue water

Dark and dusty, painted on the sky, Misty taste of moonshine, teardrops in my eyes

Country roads, take me home, To the place I belong

West Virginia, mountain momma, Take me home, country roads

I hear her voice in the mornin’ hour she calls me, The radio reminds me of my home far away

And drivin’ down the road I get a feelin’ That I should have been home yesterday, yesterday

Country roads, take me home To the place I belong

West Virginia, mountain momma, Take me home, country roads

Country roads, take me home To the place I belong

West Virginia, West Virginia, mountain momma, oh momma

Take me home, country roads, Take me home, down country roads

Take me home, down country roads

13.   Under The Bridge (Songwriters: John Frusciante, Micheal Balzary, Chad Smith, Anthony Kiedis, Vocals: Anthony Kiedis)

Sometimes I feel like I don’t have a partner, Sometimes I feel like my only friend

Is the city I live in, the city of angels, Lonely as I am, together we cry

I drive on her streets ’cause she’s my companion, I walk through her hills ’cause she knows who I am

She sees my good deeds and she kisses the windy, Well, I never worry, now that is a lie

I don’t ever wanna feel like I did that day, But take me to the place I love, take me all the way

I don’t ever wanna feel like I did that day, 

But take me to the place I love, take me all the way, yeah, yeah, yeah

It’s hard to believe that there’s nobody out there, It’s hard to believe that I’m all alone

Atleast I have her love, the city, she loves me, Lonely as I am, together we cry

I don’t ever wanna feel like I did that day, But take me to the place I love, take me all the way

I don’t ever wanna feel like I did that day 

But take me to the place I love, take me all the way, yeah yeah yeah

Oh, no, no, no, yeah yeah, Love me, I say, yeah yeah

One time, Under the bridge downtown

Is where I drew some blood, Under the bridge downtown, I could not get enough, 

Under the bridge downtown, Forgot about my love

Under the bridge downtown, I gave my life away

Yeah yeah yeah, Oh, no, no, no, yeah yeah

Where I stay

14.   Fix You (Songwriters: Guy Berryman, Jon Buckland, Will Champion, Chris  Martin, Vocals: Chris Martin)

When you try your best but you don’t succeed

When you get what you want but not what you need

When you feel so tired but you can’t sleep

Stuck in reverse

And the tears come streaming down your face

When you lose something you can’t replace

When you love someone but it goes to waste

Could it be worse?

Lights will guide you home And ignite your bones

And I will try to fix you And high up above or down below

When you’re too in love to let it go But if you never try you’ll never know

Just what you’re worth

Lights will guide you home And ignite your bones And I will try to fix you

Tears stream down your face, When you lose something you cannot replace

Tears stream down your face And I

Tears stream down your face

I promise you I will learn from my mistakes

Tears stream down your face

And I

Lights will guide you home And ignite your bones And I will try to fix you

15.   Chasing Pavements (Songwriters: Adele Adkins, Francis Eg White, Vocals: Adele) 

I’ve made up my mind, don’t need to think it over

If I’m wrong I am right, don’t need to look no further

This ain’t lust, I know this is love

But if I tell the world, I’ll never say enough ‘Cause it was not said to you

And that’s exactly what I need to do if I’d end up with you

Should I give up or should I just keep chasing pavements

Even if it leads nowhere? 

Or would it be a waste even if I knew my place, Should I leave it there?

Should I give up or should I just keep chasing pavements, Even if it leads nowhere?

I build myself up and fly around in circles

Wait then as my heart drops and my back begins to tingle, Finally could this be it?

Should I give up or should I just keep chasing pavements, Even if it leads nowhere?

Or would it be a waste even if I knew my place, Should I leave it there?

Should I give up or should I just keep chasing pavements, Even if it leads nowhere?

Should I give up or should I just keep chasing pavements, Even if it leads nowhere?

Or would it be a waste even if I knew my place, Should I leave it there?

Should I give up or should I just keep on chasing pavements

Should I just keep on chasing pavements?

Should I give up or should I just keep chasing pavements, Even if it leads nowhere?

Or would it be a waste even if I knew my place, Should I leave it there?

Should I give up or should I just keep chasing pavements, Even if it leads nowhere?

16.   Things People Say (Songwriters & Vocals: David Haywood, Charles Kelley)

There I was at the bus stop begging you just to stay

Can we work this out, baby we can work this out

A dust trail from a Greyhound headed for the West Coast

As I watch you leave, it’s getting hard to breathe

No this ain’t how it was suppose to be, You’re out chasing all your dreams

Tell me where does that leave me

What about the plans that you left behind, The little white house by the railway line

The one we picked out, We even put the payment down

What about the promise that you made, To stay with me till your dying day, Said you’d never go away

Are they just things that people say?, Are they just things, baby?

The preacher stopped by the house last Tuesday, Asked if I was fine

We sat and talked a while, He tried to make me smile

But it’s so hard to show my face ’round lately, In this small town

I guess they heard the news, ‘Bout me and you

It’s 3 a.m. and I can’t sleep at all, I wonder where you are tonight, And do I ever cross your mind? 

What about the plans that you left behindThe little white house by the railway line, The one we picked out

We even put the payment down, 

What about the promise that you made To stay with me till your dying day, Said you’d never go away

Are they just things that people say?

Well, my momma won’t stop crying, She wonders what went wrong,

Could I have loved a little deeper Or did I hold on too strong? Woah, no

What about the plans that you left behind, The little white house by the railway line, 

The one we picked out, We even put the payment down

What about the promise that you made To stay with me till your dying day

Said you’d never go away, Are they just things that people say?

Woah, are they just things, baby? Woah

One thought on “#MusicLog : An Hour of My Favorite Music

  1. Pingback: #MusicLog #8 : कहीं दूर जब दिन ढल जाए…Somewhere far away when the day end… « For Whatever It's Worth…

Leave a Reply

